Having a ball

Mum has been taking us out for a walk with our neighbour and her lady dogs. They’re nice enough, but one’s 12 and the other one is deaf.

I’m not into older women and the deaf one tried to bite me so I stayed well away from them both and played my favourite game – annoy Rudy.

We were supposed to be playing Fetch with Mum, but I don’t do fetching. I’m a gundog, so of course I know how to fetch, I just choose not to. I’ve evolved beyond being a human tool…so instead I steal the ball or stick from Rudy and watch him go mental trying to get it back. He’s desperate to be a good boy and take it back to his mummy, but he can never catch me. I let him almost get his gnashers on it, then I go up a gear and he’s eating dust. It’s so funny, even Mum laughs.

She reckons I’m like my dad – I just like being awkward. Too right.

The oldies from next door didn’t cramp my style thankfully, and I managed to attract the attentions of a young blonde fellow German (Shepherd rather than Pointer). The flirtatious young pup stole Rudy’s ball and was teasing me with it.

Things were going well until my wing man ruined everything. Ooh he was not happy at her pinching his ball. He only has eyes for his mum and snapped at my ladyfriend so we were taken away before he totally lost it. So the narky little sod ruined my chances with Frau Blondie.

Maybe I’ll see her again…I’ll just have to bring an extra ball, just for her.

About gspointer

I'm Otto - a German Shorthaired Pointer and a real son of a gundog. I'm originally from Lanarkshire in Scotland but was deported to New Zealand for bad behaviour. I live with my mum and dad and my little brother Rudy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment